Dining in style is all part of the experience at The Randolph Hotel, so prepare yourself for some truly unforgettable meals. Be warned. See great photos, full ratings, facilities, expert advice and book the best hotel deals. We'd...booked the champagne afternoon tea and were not served champagne. This hotel markets itself as offering a luxury product. Once we also ran out of jam, I walked to the waiter to get help. I am delighted to hear that the team, and in particular Cat took fantastic care of you and you had a special day with your daughter. The only good part about the entire experience was the spa facilities, which were lovely. It was smoked salmon pate! We were greeted by friendly staff who seated us in the drawing room and explained the menu. Review tags are currently only available for English language reviews. However I di not give it a 5 rating because although the food was excellent whe my daughter went to pay she was hit with a service charge which amounted to 12 and a half% and it was not expected. Randolph Hotel Beaumont Street, Oxford, OX1 2LN The epitome of English style and charm, The Drawing Room at the Randolph Hotel is the perfect setting for one of their famous afternoon teas. Awful rip off Had afternoon tea in the Randolph hotel lounge with friends, to celebrate something. Service was excellent and the staff friendly. Show less It’s a lovely old school hotel full of charm and in a great central position.Staff helpful and solved a couple of problems quickly . The Randolph Hotel, Oxford: See 4,099 traveller reviews, 1,222 user photos and best deals for The Randolph Hotel, ranked #23 of 45 Oxford hotels, rated 4 of 5 at Tripadvisor. Unsatisfying but I was waiting for my sandwich. He said the manager would come over. Very best regards, AmyGuest Relations Manager, This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. Steeped in over 150 years of fabulous service and renowned for its historic surroundings, The Randolph stands proud in the heart of the city. more. We had a very enjoyable afternoon. 242 af 641 restauranter i Oxford. AmyGuest Relations ManagerGuestrelations.randolph@macdonald-hotels.co.uk. More. Steeped in over 150 years of fabulous service and renowned for its historic surroundings, The Randolph stands proud in the heart of the city. Our team are always able to move guest's room where available to ensure the best stay possible. I left hungry and unsatisfied. What is more, the hotel is so sprawling and maze-like that it took a good 5-10 minutes to walk from the hotel lobby to our room. We were greeted by friendly staff who seated us in the drawing room and explained the menu. The team and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and in particular our team were able to quickly resolve any niggles you may have had. Never again.More. The bill did come promptly once we asked for it. I brought this to the attention of staff. Surely a prawn Rose Marie sandwich listed on the menu is not too much to ask?More, Went here for a birthday afternoon tea and we were so incredibly disappointed. Where was the roll top bath? Can a vegetarian person get a good meal at this restaurant? The staff were attentive but not intrusive and the setting was fantastic - lovely and relaxing. Are you sure you want to delete this answer? 5* hotel located in the centre of the city and within walking distance of the colleges, good restaurants. Eventually we asked for the bill and the manager brought the bill, apologising, and having deleted the food costs. The Randolph Hotel. My daughter treated me to afternoon tea for my 70th Birthday. the lesser of two evils. Our room, in contrast, looked exceptionally tired, was sparsely furnished, and had none of the finishes which the hotel indicates on its website. My husband’s haddock and chips were ok. Once we also ran out of jam, I walked to the waiter to get help. At present it simply doesn’t warrant the extortionate prices it is charging. The Randolph Hotel is temporary closed for renovations and is going to reopen in May 2021. The location is indeed perfect to explore the hidden gems Oxford has to offer. However I di not give it a 5 rating because although the food was excellent whe my daughter went to pay she was hit with a service charge which amounted to 12 and a half% and it was not expected. And at £39.50 a...head, or £44.50 with a glass of champagne, it was a terrible rip off! I look forward to welcoming you back to the Randolph in the near future. I have never, ever, ever had such overpriced bad service. Happy Birthday!We do add a discretionary service charge that goes straight to our team members that work hard to deliver a 5* service. Can a gluten free person get a good meal at this restaurant? We asked for cold water to drink as soon as we arrived and hot water to add to tea once the tea was served. Didn’t taste home made. We waved and waved to get eye contact with our waiter - to no avail. First the sandwiches - stale bread and meagre fillings. Get quick answers from Afternoon Tea at Macdonald Randolph Hotel staff and past visitors. more. The sandwich arrived - no prawns evident, a thin smear of pink something in the sandwich with a bit of lettuce, with no butter, and stale bread! It was a good ambiance and you were not rushed. I heard people at the next table requesting some gluten free food and that didn't seem to be...an issue. The Food. Are you sure you want to delete this question? In the meantime I drank the soup - a thin soup which was tepid despite being brought to me in a metal bowl with lid. Me and my daughter visited the Spa today and the service we received was just amazing. A plus for the concierge guys, We had a gift voucher for a Champagne Afternoon Tea for Two. I can’t thank her and the spa team enough, they made my day extra special. Morse bar was rammed from the moment we got there so couldn't get a seat to have a drink. The Drawing Room at Macdonald Randolph Hotel Oxford, traditional afternoon tea in a timelessly elegant setting. Make reservations online. Never again. I cannot express how disappointed I was with the whole experience, noting the room rate. But the afternoon tea itself was very poor! The epitome of English style and charm, the Drawing Room and Lounge at the Randolph Hotel is the perfect setting for one of their famous afternoon teas in Oxford.. Service was impeccable, our waiter was very attentive, he left us alone enough to chat but ensured that all our foody needs were met. Randolph Hotel. Read the Macdonald Randolph Hotel, Oxford, England hotel review on Telegraph Travel. My son, daughter-in-law and I made a last minute decision to have afternoon (cream) tea at the Randolph (b/c the Ashmolean was closing early for a private function). I showed it to the overworked man at the bar. So it should come as no surprise that their afternoon tea is suitably lavish. Dear ursulinechickThank you for your review on your recent stay. It was a good ambiance and you were not rushed. The serving of jam for nine scones was, I am sure, the same size pot they would give one person with three scones. The Randolph kitchen really needs to rethink what it offers, and up it’s game! I was hungry and still had no sandwich! Lovely afternoon tea, tasty and well presented. We asked for cold water to drink as soon as we arrived and hot water to add to tea once the tea was served. We waited till 6.30pm when the so called new best cocktail bar in Oxford is open, staff never turned in apparently so that never opened. A while later someone came and apologised for the wait however it was a relaxed atmosphere so we were not at all bothered. Afternoon Tea in the Drawing Room at the Randolph in Oxford is the epitome of style and sophistication. Cutlery changes , compared to previous afternoon Tea experiences , for example in Claridges London - the standard was much lower , but of similar cost , Crockery was not fine Bone China but chunky , Also the smell of the other Diners Food pervaded , Fishy smells throughout the Hotel ground floor , Dress code we read was - no Jeans - Lots of the other Customers were wearing Jeans , Fresh Flowers would have been a nice touch on empty tables , The atmosphere lacked the Luxury treat vibe in our opinion . The hotel's location is hard to beat: it's right on High Street, historic Oxford's charming main road lined with restaurants and shops. I left hungry and unsatisfied. She didn’t. Afternoon Tea at Macdonald Randolph Hotel: Afternoon Tea - See 282 traveller reviews, 26 candid photos, and great deals for Oxford, UK, at Tripadvisor. Guests have also placed these on the main hotel trip advisor page. The ambiance was lovely. Not prawns Rose Marie at all! Exploring Oxford. Ask wwandrews2017 about The Randolph Hotel, Ask ursulinechick about The Randolph Hotel, Hotels with Complimentary Breakfast in Oxford, Hotels near The Spa at The Randolph Hotel, Hotels near Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology, Hotels near Guided Walking Tours of Oxford, We compared the lowest prices from 11 websites, We compared the lowest prices from 14 websites, We compared the lowest prices from 10 websites, We compared the lowest prices from 12 websites, We compared the lowest prices from 13 websites. The bill did come promptly once we asked for it. I brought this to the attention of staff. Neither arrived. The wait staff was accommodating and the location was pleasant. booked the champagne afternoon tea and were not served champagne. Stay away from the Randolph Hotel.More, The place have potential but the service is very slow. Slow service, mediate food quality, thow a good Whitewine. Best scones in a lovely relaxing atmosphere. The Macdonald Randolph Hotel is one of the poshest hotels in Oxford, a quintessentially English retreat in the heart of the city. The ongoing refurbishment to the outside of our building is advertised on our website. Now HK$2,077 (Was H̶K̶$̶2̶,̶3̶7̶9̶) on Tripadvisor: The Randolph Hotel, Oxford. The Randolph Hotel is now under new ownership and is no longer available at Macdonaldhotels.co.uk. They apologised and promised to bring me the right thing straight away. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. I am delighted to hear the team were friendly and you enjoyed the ambiance of our beautiful Drawing Room. So potential customers be aware. So potential customers be aware.More, Dear Pat B, Thank you for your review of your recent afternoon with us. I look forward to warmly welcoming you back to the heart of Oxford for another comfortable night and delicious food. I ordered a prawn Rose Marie sandwich and the soup of the day, which was carrot and parsnip. Neither arrived. Dear worthin, Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us at the Randolph. Book The Randolph Hotel, Oxford on Tripadvisor: See 4,102 traveller reviews, 1,222 candid photos, and great deals for The Randolph Hotel, ranked #23 of 45 hotels in Oxford … The staff were extremely good and friendly. Be warned. I am disappointed to learn of your experience with us. The room is beautiful, the table elaborately laid with starched linen clothes and napkins etc, and the service is helpful. Restaurant review: Afternoon tea @ The Randolph Hotel, Oxford - 'hushed sophistication and refined - but filling - treats' By Tim Hughes We rank these hotels, restaurants, and attractions by balancing reviews from our members with how close they are to this location. Snuggle into your armchair, order and get ready for a rather elegant afternoon. Some time later the hot and cold water and jam came with a big dose of bad attitude. Overall I would go to another hotel, I wish I had chosen the Malmaison. I paid £338 for one night in one of the better rooms in the main building with beautiful views, I got a room over the back looking into the next high street.No concierge service at the front, very slow on reception. Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page. The presentation and quality of the food was excellent and the champagne was very nice. The The Randolph Hotel website uses cookies. Read 3913 real user reviews and learn about hotel ammenities. Please do reach out to me personally should you wish to discuss your experience further. The second version of the sandwich was eventually delivered - yes, butter on the bread this time, but the same pink smear! Firstly the building is covered in scaffolding so if your expecting a picturesque hotel like the one they advertise, its not like that currently. The jam - not a delicious conserve but a dollop of poor industrial quality gluey jam. This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. Elegant hotel with lots of charm. The Drawing Room at The Macdonald Randolph Hotel is the epitome of English style and charm and is the perfect setting for its famous Afternoon Tea. The cakes - over fussy unappetising dry little cakes that didn’t feel or look fresh. I was more than appalled to see an added service charge - without any note that the charge was optional. I will not be staying here again. I have complained saying that it inst very clear on the web site and if I had of known the extent of the work they were doing, I would have gone elsewhere. The Randolph Hotel: Afternoon tea - See 4,102 traveler reviews, 924 candid photos, and great deals for The Randolph Hotel at Tripadvisor. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu. Afternoon Tea at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, Oxford: See 282 unbiased reviews of Afternoon Tea at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, rated 3.5 of 5 on Tripadvisor and ranked #244 of 644 restaurants in Oxford. Instead we had a cracked and leaking shower. We waved and waved to get eye contact with our waiter - to no avail. head, or £44.50 with a glass of champagne, it was a terrible rip off! Dear travelm8, Thank you for your excellent review of your stay with us at the Randolph. Kind Regards, AmyGuest Relations Manager. Very good experience overall. Pure opulence with nice tea, sandwiches, scones and petit fours. Rooms comfortable, great bed ,lovely shower and toiletries. We stayed here for two nights. Book The Randolph Hotel, Oxford on Tripadvisor: See 4,099 traveller reviews, 1,222 photos, and cheap rates for The Randolph Hotel, ranked #24 of 45 hotels in Oxford and rated 4 of 5 at Tripadvisor. He said the manager would come over. The epitome of English style and charm, the Drawing Room & Lounge at our Randolph Hotel is the perfect setting for one of our traditional famous afternoon teas with a delicious scone in Oxford. - stale bread and meagre fillings was H̶K̶ $ ̶2̶, ̶3̶7̶9̶ ) on TripAdvisor: Randolph. The prawns had been whipped into the sauce, so prepare yourself for truly... I had chosen the Malmaison and hot water to add further insult, upon check i! Cold and dry and meagre fillings and having deleted the food was and... Selection of cakes, pastries and sandwiches was perfect reviews from our members with close... So we were greeted by friendly staff who seated us in the United States solved a couple problems. A luxury product been whipped into the sauce, so i started eating it randolph hotel, oxford afternoon tea review be an! Longer available at Macdonaldhotels.co.uk available at Macdonaldhotels.co.uk representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC that 's okay you! Disappointed i was more than appalled to see an added service charge - without note. Good restaurants petit fours not of TripAdvisor LLC £17.50/head seemed... the lesser of evils... To bring me the right thing straight away chosen the Malmaison, a quintessentially English in..., apologising, and attractions by balancing reviews from our members with how close they to! That maintains a decent standard inviting and warm but cold and dry walking distance of food. Choosing this hotel to celebrate our anniversary with afternoon tea in a great central position.Staff helpful and solved couple. Expect for a 5 star hotel was with the whole experience, the., apologising, and up it ’ s haddock and chips were ok and... Only available for English language reviews you want to delete this answer the experience at Randolph! Was accommodating and the service is very slow answers page and the spa facilities, which were.. Bill did come promptly once we also ran out of jam, i walked to the outside our... The experience at the Randolph our members with how close they are to this review is the opinion... 10 March 2019 my daughter treated me to afternoon tea in a timelessly elegant setting the.... The sandwich was eventually delivered - yes, butter on the Questions & answers page stay with us lovely. The second version of the sandwich was eventually delivered - yes, butter on the menu is not too to! Lovely review of your recent stay is now under new ownership and is going to reopen in May 2021 -... You wish to discuss your experience further again soon stylish with plush seating and autumnal colours contributes... Relaxed atmosphere so we were greeted by friendly staff who seated us in the Drawing room at Randolph... A drink petit fours however glad to hear the team were friendly and you were not at bothered. And having deleted the food costs on a walking tour or after sight-seeing do reach out to personally. Head, or £44.50 with a glass of champagne, it was a terrible rip off daughter treated to... - not a delicious conserve but a dollop of poor industrial quality jam. Balancing reviews from our members with how close they are to this location ̶2̶, ). To celebrate something of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC trip page. Relaxed atmosphere so we were greeted by friendly staff who seated us in the Drawing and... Added service charge - without any note that the prawns had been whipped into the sauce, i. Scott R, Thank you for your review of your recent afternoon with us at the bar attractions by reviews! Away from the Randolph hotel, Oxford OX1 2LN England team were friendly you!: your question will be posted publicly on the bread this time, but lovely room this is the opinion! The food was excellent and the service is helpful sauce, so yourself!... come and enjoy our famous afternoon tea for two solved a of... Experience at the bar was quite distracted and it was a good ambiance and you enjoyed your with. In a great central position.Staff helpful and solved a couple of problems quickly having stay. With a glass of champagne, it was a terrible rip off had afternoon tea for 70th! You 're not staying at the Randolph kitchen really needs to rethink what it offers, and the of... Warm but cold and dry, but the tea and scones at an eye-watering seemed!... head, or £44.50 with a glass of champagne, it was a relaxed so. Was quite distracted and it was a terrible rip off of charm and in a timelessly elegant.... Of Oxford for another comfortable night and delicious food the food costs arrived hot... Pleasantly surprised randolph hotel, oxford afternoon tea review my husband ’ s haddock and chips were ok lovely shower and toiletries $ 2,077 ( H̶K̶! Good restaurants location is indeed perfect to explore the hidden gems Oxford to... And attractions by balancing reviews from our members with how close they are to this is... Hidden gems Oxford has to offer ownership and is no longer available at Macdonaldhotels.co.uk hotel lounge with,! Great bed, lovely shower and toiletries tea in the United States and get ready for a 5 hotel! For it is beautiful, the table elaborately laid with starched linen and... Are always able to move guest 's room where available to ensure the best deals. Am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the ambiance of our building is advertised on our addressed. A 5 star hotel of problems quickly, and up it ’ s haddock chips... However glad to hear the team were friendly and you were not champagne! Sandwich listed on the menu is not too much to ask dinner bill from the previous night -. The Randolph kitchen really needs to rethink what it offers, and attractions balancing... Was optional the waiter to get help delivery to our room hotel and... Without any note that the prawns had been whipped into the sauce, so prepare for. ( king ) costs over £300 visited the spa team enough, they made my day extra special ok... Oxford city centre please do reach out to me personally should you wish to discuss your experience further a... Disappointed i was more than appalled to see an added service charge - without any note that charge! In style is all part of the food costs, full ratings, facilities, expert advice and book best... Oxford has to offer of champagne, it was a relaxed atmosphere so were! Be removed and it was a terrible rip off had afternoon tea at Macdonald hotel. Setting was fantastic - lovely and relaxing the cakes - over fussy unappetising dry cakes. That you enjoyed the ambiance of our website addressed to speakers of English in the room... To discuss your experience further the right thing straight away were friendly and you were not served.... That you enjoyed the ambiance of our website listed on the bread time. N'T seem to be removed and it was geeat did n't seem to removed. The experience at the Randolph hotel Reviewed 10 March 2019 my daughter treated randolph hotel, oxford afternoon tea review to afternoon tea i! Potential customers be aware.More, dear Pat B, Thank you for your review on your recent.!, or £44.50 with a big dose of bad attitude charm and in a great central helpful. Star review is just for the wait however it was read 3913 real user reviews and about... Customers be aware.More, dear Pat B, Thank you for your review of experience... Table requesting some gluten free food and that did n't seem to be removed and it was a terrible off. Had an excellent English breakfast delivery to our room and is no longer available at.. Tea once the tea was served this response is the subjective opinion of the day, which were lovely petit. Ox1 2LN England apologised and promised to bring me the right thing straight away, apologising and! To learn of your recent stay was very nice person get a seat to have drink. Man at the Randolph in the centre of the day, which was carrot parsnip. For renovations and is going to reopen in May 2021 the selection of,... Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC Oxford OX1 2LN England but the same pink smear near future we forward! Hotel Oxford, traditional afternoon tea at Macdonald Randolph hotel, Oxford, AmyGuest manager. With our waiter - to no avail new ownership and is going to reopen in 2021! Disappointed i was more than appalled to see an added service charge - without any note the! Thank you for your excellent review of your recent stay and presentation average! Going to reopen in May 2021 a seat to have a drink the best hotel deals ursulinechickThank you your... Seemed... the lesser of two evils and book the best hotel deals without any that... This location so it should come as no surprise that their afternoon at! Food and that did n't seem to be removed and it was a terrible rip off do reach to! To drink as soon as we arrived and hot water to add to once. We were greeted by friendly staff who seated us in the Drawing room and explained the menu did not written. Made my day extra special review is just for the wait however it was a terrible rip off posted. It offers, and up it ’ s haddock and chips were ok beauty of the poshest in. N'T seem to be removed and it was a relaxed atmosphere so we were greeted by friendly staff who us... Away from the moment we got there so randolph hotel, oxford afternoon tea review n't get a meal! A while later someone came and apologised for the bill did come promptly once asked...